Home arrow Eligible Area


Eligible Area

The eligible areas of the Cross-border Cooperation Programme Italy-Malta 2007-2013 are the following:

1) NUTS III areas which enjoy physical proximity (eligible for financing in terms of article 7(1) of Reg. EC/1083/2006)
Areas in Sicily
The regional Provinces of Agrigento, Caltanissetta, Ragusa, Siracusa and Trapani.
Areas in Malta
The entire state of Malta (which includes the islands of Malta, Gozo and Comino).

2) NUTS III adjacent areas (eligible for financing in terms of article 21(1) of Reg. EC/1080/2006)
The regional Provinces of Catania and Palermo.

As regards the incidence of financing by means of the ERDF on the adjacent areas, it is underlined that these will be eligible for financing up to a maximum amount of 20% of ERDF in terms of article 21(1) first part of the European Parliament and the Council Regulation EC/1080/2006 and in specific cases the possibility to utilize what is covered by article 21(1) second part of the same regulation will be considered.